Features Original Score Composed By Emmy® Nominee Jeff Russo

Lakeshore Records has released today The Night Of: Music from the HBO Series. The album is available to download now at iTunes (with all other digital outlets coming soon). The HBO limited series, which recently wrapped its critically acclaimed eight-episode limited season, was a summer smash on HBO. The album features an original score that helped support the narrative of the series, written by Emmy®-nominated composer Jeff Russo, best known for his work on popular TV shows like Fargo, Power and Manhattan. The full track listing follows.

01. The Night of (Main Title Screen Version Quartet)
02. Subtle Beast
03. Andrea’s Cat
04. Crisco & Celophane
05. 21st Precinct
06. The Tombs
07. Freddy’s Intro
08. Cot On Fire
09. The Plea
10. Say The Words For Me
11. Helen’s Intro
12. Dr. Katz
13. The Philistines
14. Did I Raise An Animal?
15. Father Of A Killer
16. The Waving Cat
17. The Kiss
18. Notice To Appear
19. Naz’s Testimony
20. Ladies And Gentlemen
21. Outbreak
22. Tattoo
23. Deliberation
24. The Call Of The Wild
25. The Squadroom
26. The Night Of (Main Title Extended – Piano and Orchestra)
27. The Night Of (End Credits)

From creators Steven Zaillian and Richard Price, “The Night Of” is an eight-part limited series that delves into the intricacies of a complex New York City murder case with cultural and political overtones. The story examines the police investigation, the legal proceedings, the criminal justice system and Rikers Island, where the accused await trial. The Night Of stars John Turturro and Riz Ahmed and was directed by Steven Zaillian and James Marsh. It is executive produced by Zaillian, Price, Jane Tranter, James Gandolfini, and Peter Moffat; co-executive produced by Garrett Basch, Nancy Sanders and Mark Armstrong. Filmed in and around Manhattan, the HBO limited series is based on the BBC’s “Criminal Justice,” created by Peter Moffat.

EMMY® and GRAMMY-nominated musician, Jeff Russo has become a prominent composer, songwriter and arranger in the film and television industry. Jeff recently received his second Emmy nomination for his music on FX’s Emmy and Golden Globe-winning series, “Fargo.” Jeff was previously nominated for the first season of the show. Russo recently completed HBO’s hit mini-series, “The Night Of,” starring John Turturro, and is currently working on the third season of “Fargo,” Starz’s original drama “Power,” from executive producer Curtis “50 Cent” Jackson, and Noah Hawley’s highly anticipated project, FX’s “Legion.” Jeff is also slated to compose the music for ABC’s “Time After Time,” from creator Kevin Williamson.

In addition to composing music for film and television, Jeff still plays music with his rock band. He is a founding member, lead guitarist and co-songwriter of two-time GRAMMY-nominated, multi-platinum selling rock band, TONIC. Their debut album, “Lemon Parade,” posted three singles in the U.S. Mainstream rock charts’ Top 10, with “If You Could Only See,” rocketing to number one. In 2003, the band received two GRAMMY nominations, one for “Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal” for “Take Me As I Am,” and one for “Best Rock Album.”

Jeff created the original score for CBS’s newest Steven Spielberg series, “American Gothic,” Spike’s “Tut,” starring Ben Kingsley, and USA Network’s “Necessary Roughness,” starring Callie Thorne and John Stamos. Jeff collaborated with Zoe Keating on both WGN’s “Manhattan” and A&E Network’s “The Returned.” Russo also worked on several feature films, including Shoreline Entertainment’s “Watercolor Postcards,” starring Laura Bell Bundy, and the independent feature, “Free Ride,” starring Anna Paquin, Cam Gigandet and Drea de Mateo. Jeff’s work can also be heard in various other television shows such as ABC’s “Charlie’s Angels,” “Castle” and “What about Brian,” Showtime’s “Shameless” and “Weeds,” NBC’s “Smash,” “Crossing Jordan” and “The Bionic Woman.”

Russo has composed music for the New York Ballet Company Cedarlake Ensemble.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s