Featuring Original Music By Danny Elfman
And Songs By R.E.M., Felt, Tracey Ullman, Fun Boy Three, Tindersticks, And Brian Eno

Danny Elfman’s gentle score serves to delicately coax out the story’s underlying sorrow. Lively song selections also punctuate the film.” – The Hollywood Reporter
(July 14, 2015– Los Angeles, CA) – Lakeshore Records will release THE END OF THE TOUR – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on July 24th and on CD August 28, 2015. The film, which is set in the mid 90s, features songs by artists including R.E.M, Felt, Tracey Ullman, Fun Boy Three, Brian Eno, Tindersticks, with score by Danny Elfman (FIFTY SHADES OF GREY, ALICE IN WONDERLAND, MILK, GOOD WILL HUNTING).

Director James Ponsoldt knew what songs would be part of the film from the early stages. In an interview with Ponsoldt said, “From early on, R.E.M. and Brian Eno were a band and a musician that sort of factored into the time that Lipsky and Wallace spent together and they had conversations about what they listened to. So I knew that R.E.M. and Eno would feature in the movie.”

THE END OF THE TOUR tells the story of the five-day interview between Rolling Stone reporter and novelist David Lipsky (Jesse Eisenberg) and acclaimed novelist David Foster Wallace (Jason Segel), which took place right after the 1996 publication of Wallace’s groundbreaking epic novel, “Infinite Jest.” As the days go on, a tenuous yet intense relationship seems to develop between journalist and subject. The two men bob and weave around each other, sharing laughs and also possibly revealing hidden frailties – but it’s never clear how truthful they are being with each other. Ironically, the interview was never published, and five days of audiotapes were packed away in Lipsky’s closet. The two men did not meet again.

The film is based on Lipsky’s critically acclaimed memoir “Although Of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself: A Road Trip with David Foster Wallace” about this unforgettable encounter, written following Wallace’s 2008 suicide. Both Segel and Eisenberg reveal great depths of emotion in their performances and the film is directed with humor and tenderness by Sundance vet James Ponsoldt from Pulitizer Prize winner Donald Margulies’ insightful and heartbreaking screenplay.

Ponsoldt was also ecstatic to get composer Danny Elfman to write the original music for the film. His Assistant Director Nick Harvard recommended Elfman, a family friend, for the film. “I was interested in doing something that would be like 25 minutes of score that’s ultra minimalist, that’s real undertones to the movie,” Ponsoldt described. “I think he was really excited about the challenge of this.”

Over the last 30 years, four-time Oscar® nominee Danny Elfman has established himself as one of the most versatile and accomplished film composers in the industry. He has collaborated with such directors as Tim Burton, David O. Russell, Gus Van Sant, Sam Raimi, Paul Haggis, Ang Lee, Rob Marshall, Guillermo del Toro, Brian De Palma, and Peter Jackson.

A native of Los Angeles, Elfman grew up loving film music. He travelled the world as a young man, absorbing its musical diversity. He helped found the band Oingo Boingo, and came to the attention of a young Tim Burton, who asked him to write the score for Pee-wee’s Big Adventure. 30 years later, the two have forged one of the most fruitful composer-director collaborations in film history. In addition to his film work, Elfman wrote the iconic theme music for The Simpsons and Desperate Housewives.

Elfman has scored a broad range of films, including: Milk (Oscar nominated), Good Will Hunting (Oscar nominated), Big Fish (Oscar nominated), Men in Black (Oscar nominated), Edward Scissorhands, Wanted, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Mission: Impossible, Planet of the Apes, A Simple Plan, To Die For, Spider-Man (1 & 2), Batman, Dolores Claiborne, Sommersby, Chicago, Dick Tracy, The Nightmare Before Christmas and Alice in Wonderland.

Track Listing:
01. Intro – Danny Elfman
02. Talk to Jan – Danny Elfman
03. Sunlight Bathed the Golden Glow – Felt
04. Perfect Circle – R.E.M.
05. Room of Books – Danny Elfman
06. Minneapolis – Danny Elfman
07. Reprise 1 – Danny Elfman
08. They Don’t Know – Tracey Ullman
09. Our Lips Are Sealed – Fun Boy Three
10. Going Sour – Danny Elfman
11. The Tour’s Over – Danny Elfman
12. Mall Of America – Danny Elfman
13. Walking the Dog – Danny Elfman
14. Invasion – Danny Elfman
15. The Shoe – Danny Elfman
16. The Big Ship – Brian Eno
17. Here – Tindersticks
18. Reprise 2 – Danny Elfman

A24 Films presents THE END OF THE TOUR in theaters (NY and LA) July 31, 2015. Lakeshore Records presents THE END OF THE TOUR – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, available digitally on July 24th and on CD August 28, 2015.


  1. Pingback: UPCOMING SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – July 24 to September 18, 2015 |

  2. Pingback: UPCOMING SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – August 7 to September 18, 2015 |

  3. Pingback: UPCOMING SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – August 14 to September 18, 2015 |

  4. Pingback: UPCOMING SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – August 21 to October 2, 2015 |

  5. Pingback: LATEST SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – 09/03/2015 |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s