Featuring Original Music By Joe Kraemer
With Songs by Donovan Frankenreiter, Rita Wilson & Matt Nathanson, Safety Orange, Guardian Ghost, and Up the Anesthetic

(May 15, 2015– Los Angeles, CA) – Lakeshore Records will release the DAWN PATROL – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, digitally on June 2 and on CD August 14, 2015. The album features original music composed by Joe Kraemer (MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE 5, JACK REACHER) and songs by Donovan Frankenreiter, Safety Orange, Guardian Ghost, Up the Anesthetic, and the original track “Bad Things” by Rita Wilson & Matt Nathanson, written for the film.

“The central musical idea of the score is the theme for the two brothers, which bounces back and forth between a minor, sad sound, and a major, uplifting sound.” Joe Kraemer said.

Dawn Patrol, part POINT BREAK part HURT LOCKER is about a surfer-turned-Marine (Scott Eastwood) held at gunpoint in a distant desert who tells his tragic story of revenge for his brother (Chris Brochu) gone wrong to stall his execution.

Joe Kraemer has been scoring films since the age of 15, when he composed the soundtrack for high school classmate Scott Storm’s The Chiming Hour, a feature-length indie shot on Super 8 in 1986. It was during this time that he first met a young writer named Christopher McQuarrie, a meeting that would lead to three career-defining projects for Kraemer, THE WAY OF THE GUN, JACK REACHER, and the upcoming MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE 5.

In the years following THE WAY OF THE GUN, Kraemer carved out an eclectic career scoring all manner of films, from documentaries to television movies to action and horror films. He has written music for over 100 films, TV movies, episodic television, and film shorts, some 40 films just for The Hallmark Channel/Larry Levinson Productions alone! Strong melodic writing and superb dramatic sensibilities have kept him at the forefront of their rotation, and highlights include his scores for John Putch’s The Poseidon Adventure and A Time To Remember, the Mystery Woman series of ten films, and westerns such as Hard Ground, Lone Rider and The Trail to Hope Rose. He has also written the music for The Hitcher II and Joyride 2 for director Louis Morneau, and six films with writer-producer Mark Altman, including House of the Dead 2, The Thirst and All Souls Day.

But it is his relationship with director Christopher McQuarrie and actor/producer Tom Cruise that Kraemer is most known for. McQuarrie’s second directorial effort, starring and produced by Cruise, 2012’s Jack Reacher would allow Kraemer to again use the palette of a full symphonic orchestra. Kraemer is poised to break out in 2015, with the release of DAWN PATROL in June, and a reteaming with McQuarrie and Cruise on MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE 5, due out in July.

“The director wanted very much to have a theme to really reinforce the bond between the brothers.” Joe Kraemer said. “He also wanted a moody score, with synthesizers and modern sounds. There were many songs in the film, especially in the first half of the film, and these really establish the beach culture of the movie. The score operates on a more ethereal, almost dreamy level.”

Alchemy presents DAWN PATROL, available in limited theaters June 5, 2015. The DAWN PATROL – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will be available on June 2 and on CD August 14, 2015.

Track listing
01. Heading Home (Hawaiian Version) – Donavon Frankenreiter
02. State of Where I Am – Safety Orange
03. Bad Things – Rita Wilson & Matt Nathanson
04. Awaken! – Guardian Ghost
05. Night Shift – Up the Anesthetic
06. Main Title – Joe Kraemer
07. Life’s a Beach – Joe Kraemer
08. Brothers – Joe Kraemer
09. Losing Ben – Joe Kraemer
10. Surfer’s Farewell – Joe Kraemer
11. Donna – Joe Kraemer
12. The Last Good Day – Joe Kraemer
13. Mothers and Sons – Joe Kraemer
14. Truth Will Out – Joe Kraemer
15. Another Funeral – Joe Kraemer
16. To Rivera’s – Joe Kraemer
17. Rivera’s Revenge – Joe Kraemer
18. Finale – Joe Kraemer


  1. Pingback: UPCOMING SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – June 30 to August 14, 2015 |

  2. Pingback: UPCOMING SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – July 24 to September 18, 2015 |

  3. Pingback: UPCOMING SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – August 7 to September 18, 2015 |

  4. Pingback: UPCOMING SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – August 14 to September 18, 2015 |

  5. Pingback: LATEST SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – 08/13/2015 |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s