Music composed by Marc Streitenfeld

British director Gil Kenan proved his atmospheric take on the horror and fantasy genres with his movies Monster House and City of Ember. Now, with legendary filmmaker and producer Sam Raimi (Spider-Man, Evil Dead, The Grudge), Kenan directs the remake of the beloved 1982 horror movie Poltergeist. For the soundtrack, available May 19 via Sony Classical, Kenan chose German film score composer Marc Streitenfeld, known for his collaborations with director Ridley Scott.

Poltergeist contemporizes the classic tale about a family – starring Sam Rockwell (Moon, The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy) and Rosemarie DeWitt (Cinderella Man, Rachel Getting Married) – whose suburban home is haunted by evil forces. When the terrifying apparitions escalate their attacks and hold the youngest daughter (Kennedi Clements) captive, the family must come together to rescue her before she disappears forever.

Acknowledged for his ambitious and intelligent score for Prometheus, as well as the multi-faceted soundtrack, The Grey, Streitenfeld deployed his versatile composing talents once again, the Poltergeist soundtrack expertly captures the movie’s eerie mood. With hinted horror elements, creaky sound patterns and an overall twisted timbre, Streitenfeld manages to build up spine-chilling tension – a creepy, veritably haunting score.

After Streitenfeld relocated from Munich to Los Angeles, he started working as a musical assistant for composer Hans Zimmer and became a music editor and supervisor on the blockbusters Hannibal, Mission: Impossible II and Black Hawk Down. At the request of Ridley Scott, Streitenfeld composed for A Good Year (2006), after acting as music supervisor on Scott’s 2005 film Kingdom of Heaven. He then went on to score all of Scott’s subsequent films to date. In 2007, Streitenfeld was nominated for a BAFTA award for American Gangster.

Track list
01. Poltergeist Opening
02. They’re Here
03. Angry Spirits
04. Electronics Awakening
05. They’re Not Pretend, Mommy
06. The Storm is Coming
07. Clown Attack
08. Into the Closet
09. Maddy is on TV
10. You Have to Get My Sister Back
11. A Poltergeist Intrusion
12. Home Improvements
13. Somebody is With Her
14. Take a Peek
15. I Feel a Little Braver
16. Into the Portal
17. The Other Side
18. Reunited
19. Let Her Go
20. Home Free



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s