Featuring Original Music By John Debney and Nick Urata
And the New Single “Step Into My Shoes” by Arlan Feiles

(February 25, 2015 – Los Angeles, CA) – Lakeshore Records will release THE COBBLER – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on March 10th and on CD March 31, 2015. The album features the film’s original score by John Debney (HOUDINI, THE PASSION OF THE CHRIST) and Nick Urata (RUBY SPARKS, LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE) and the new single “Step Into My Shoes” by Arlan Feiles.

“Tom McCarthy was great to work with. He was clear in his approach,” said Debney. “Tom wanted to create a Klezmer tinged score that would provide a sharp and fun counterpoint to the movie’s wacky sensibilities. Working with Nick Urata was a pleasure and I feel we came up with some fun and different music.”

“It was such a thrill to watch the enormous talents of Tom McCarthy and John Debney, collaborate and bring this unique adventure to life,” said Urata.

Academy Award-nominated John Debney seemed destined for a career in Hollywood. The son of Disney Studios producer Louis Debney, John grew up in nearby Glendale, where he began guitar lessons at age six and played in rock bands in college. He began scoring television projects as diverse as Star Trek: The Next Generation, A Pup Named Scooby-Doo and Sea Quest DSV, for which he won an Emmy for Best Main Title. In 1993 he secured his first studio feature film, the Disney comedy Hocus Pocus starring Bette Midler.

Although Debney had built an industry reputation as a talented film composer, with films as The Princess Diaries 1&2, Raising Helen, Spy Kids 1&2, Elf, and Bruce Almighty, it was in 2004 that the rest of the world discovered him. Blending symphonic orchestra, a wide range of world instruments and the beauty of the human voice, Debney’s landmark score for The Passion Of The Christ would earn him an Academy Award nomination, a Gold record and a Dove award. Debney continues to receive accolades for his outstanding work, including a received a Prime Time Emmy nomination for his work on the miniseries Hatfields and McCoys. In 2005, he became the youngest recipient of ASCAP’s prestigious Henry Mancini Lifetime Achievement Award. John Debney’s recent accomplishments include scoring the Steve Jobs biopic Jobs. His recent projects include Houdini, Draft Day, Walk Of Shame, and Stonehearst Asylum, all of which feature soundtracks on Lakeshore Records.

As a composer, Nick Urata—front man of the internationally acclaimed band DeVotchKa—has scored such films as Little Miss Sunshine, the Sundance hit that garnered four Academy Award nominations. He also co-scored the hit romantic comedy Crazy, Stupid, Love (starring Steve Carell and Ryan Gosling). His other scores include Fling, I Love You Phillip Morris, The Joneses, Waiting for Forever, Father of Invention, and Dustin Lance Black’s directorial debut Virginia (starring Jennifer Connelly and Ed Harris.) His latest work includes the score for Little Miss Sunshine directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris’s Ruby Sparks, What Maisie Knew, A.C.O.D., and PrematurE. Most recently Urata scored the documentary Alfred and Jakobine and critically acclaimed documentary director Jessica Yu’s upcoming film tentatively titled US.

Max Simkin (Adam Sandler) repairs shoes in the same New York shop that has been in his family for generations. Disenchanted with the grind of daily life, Max stumbles upon an heirloom that allows him to step into the lives of his customers and see the world in a new way. Sometimes walking in another man’s shoes is the only way to find out who you really are.

“I think the instrumentation is very unique,” said Debney of the score. “Nick and I created a Klezmer style band sensibility. Nick’s band leant their remarkable talents to some of the score to great effect. It was a fun adventure for all of us!”

Voltage Pictures presents A Next Wednesday/Golden Spike/Voltage Production THE COBBLER in theaters on March 13, 2015. THE COBBLER – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will be available digitally on March 10th and on CD March 31, 2015.


  1. Pingback: UPCOMING SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – February 24 to April 7 |

  2. Pingback: UPCOMING SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – March 17 to May 12 |

  3. Pingback: UPCOMING SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – March 24 to June 23 |

  4. Pingback: LATEST SOUNDTRACK RELEASES – 04/09/2015 |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s