(September 12, 2014– Nashville, TN – Composer, Songwriter and Music Producer Vincent Emmett is proud to announce the release of THE SONG soundtrack by Capitol Records on September 16, 2014.

The original album includes original songs penned and produced by Emmett, featuring “The Song-Awaken Love”, performed by the film’s Alan Powell (of Anthem Lights), “Prayer in Open D”, performed by Emmylou Harris and a new version of The Byrds classic “Turn! Turn! Turn!” performed by Ricky Skaggs, Emmylou Harris and Roger McGuinn. In addition to co-writing several of the songs, Emmett wrote the original score for the film.

“I wanted to bring in the best of the best, but more than anything I wanted this music to be authentic and believable,” said Emmett. “I took every chance I could to bring in award-winning roots songwriters who could capture the story of THE SONG and translate it into passionate lyrics and memorable melodies.”

Vince Emmett’s musical career arcs from the bluegrass of his Kentucky home to the mountain ranges of Ethiopia. His eclectic music education began at the age of 10 when he performed weekly on a televised country music show alongside Allison Krauss. From his study of the classics at the University of Illinois, he acquired an appreciation for the discipline of all the old masters. When the road beckoned, Vince toured playing gospel music. This led him to a small Kentucky recording studio where he honed his craft under the mentorship of bluegrass legends including JD Crowe, Doyle Lawson, Ricky Skaggs and Tony Rice, which quickly led him to a major label recording contract with Elektra Entertainment, and a publishing contract as a writer with EMI Music Publishing.

Emmett later met Kris Kristofferson and was humbled to be asked to score what would be his first feature film, PHAROAH’S ARMY, which also starred Chris Cooper and Patricia Clarkson. Vince composes and produces the scores of episodic and feature length films with his company, Picture Sonics, in his private Nashville studio. His film and TV credits include NOT A FAN, AHA, and the upcoming series GOD FOR THE REST OF US.

THE SONG follows aspiring singer-songwriter Jed King (Alan Powell of Anthem Lights) as he struggles to catch a break and escape the long shadow of his father, a country music legend. After reluctantly accepting a gig at a local vineyard harvest festival, Jed is love-struck by the vineyard owner’s daughter, Rose (Ali Faulkner, TWILIGHT: BREAKING DAWN), and a romance quickly blooms. Soon after their wedding, Jed writes Rose “The Song,” which becomes a breakout hit. Thrust into a life of stardom and a world of temptation in the form of fellow performer Shelby Bale (Caitlin Nicol-Thomas, NASHVILLE), Jed’s life and marriage begin to fall apart, proving even the wisest of men is a fool for love.

“Vince played an absolutely pivotal role in finding Jed’s voice and artistry,” said Powell. “I didn’t walk in knowing exactly who Jed ought to be or what he ought to sound like. Vince was very patient providing me the perfect blend of creative freedom and artistic guidelines. He knew exactly the right kind of artistic references and style to really bring Jed to life in the studio which ultimately very much informed the overall character.”

“Vince had a clear-cut vision of the characters and the music on THE SONG and he made it all happen. You know you’re working with a true professional when they give their input AND listen to your input and ideas and respect them,” said the film’s Nicol-Thomas. “He pushed me as a singer, a fiddler player and a person. There are some things I do vocally in the song, Confetti that I didn’t even know I was capable of!”

Samuel Goldwyn Films and City On a Hill Studio present THE SONG in theaters on September 26, 2014. THE SONG Original Soundtrack will be available September 16, 2014.

1. The Song (Awaken Love) – Alan Powell
2. Son of a King — Alan Powell
3. Kentucky Voice — Ricky Skaggs
4. Split the Baby — Alan Powell
5. You Made Me Love You — Taylor Walling
6. Can’t Hold On (Jed) — Alan Powell
7. I Love You Truly — Jill Paquette
8. Confetti — Caitlin Nicol-Thomas
9. All I Wanna Be — Alan Powell, Caitlin Nicol-Thomas
10. Falling Like Stars — Caitlin Nicol-Thomas
11. Ooh’s and Ahh’s — NEEDTOBREATHE
12. A Prayer in Open D — Emmylou Harris
13. Chasing After the Wind — Alan Powell
14. Turn, Turn, Turn (To Everything There Is A Season) — Roger McGuinn, Emmylou Harris, Ricky Skaggs
15. End of the Matter — Alan Powell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s