LOS ANGELES, CA – September 8, 2014 – Madison Gate Records will issue a digital and physical release of the soundtrack for No Good Deed, the new thriller from Screen Gems on Tuesday September 9th. The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack features new music by Paul Haslinger. Screen Gems will release No Good Deed on September 12, 2014.

No Good Deed offered a great opportunity to re-explore a style of score I had first developed for the film Vacancy (also Screen Gems, 2007): music designed to enhance psychological qualities in the telling of a story, in this case, a rather dark one,” Haslinger comments. “My personal preference for this kind of approach, is to mix classic film noir elements with music/sound-design elements, sometimes alternating, sometimes superimposing them. The goal ultimately was to connect the headspace of the characters with that of the audience, to make the audience feel the threads of the story as they watch it unfold. Working off great performances by Idris Elba and Taraji P. Henson, this was a unique and rewarding project to be involved with!”

Terri (Taraji P. Henson) is a devoted wife and mother of two, living an ideal suburban life in Atlanta when Colin (Idris Elba), a charming but dangerous escaped convict, shows up at her door claiming car trouble. Terri offers her phone to help him but soon learns that no good deed goes unpunished as she finds herself fighting for survival when he invades her home and terrorizes her family. Directed by Sam Miller, written by Aimee Lagos, and produced by Will Packer & Lee Clay. Starring Idris Elba, Taraji P. Henson, Leslie Bibb, Kate del Castillo and Henry Simmons.

About Paul Haslinger:
His unique approach to sound, blending electronic and acoustic elements into his scores, makes Paul Haslinger a distinguished composer in Hollywood with a sizable body of work ranging from the Emmy and Golden Globe nominated TV series “The Sleeper Cell” and the historic action movie “The Three Musketeers,” to the captivating Sci-Fi Thriller “Underworld: Awakening”. Paul was born in Austria where he studied at both, the prestigious Academy of Music and the University of Vienna. In 1985, he joined German Electronic pioneers Tangerine Dream. With them he worked on a multitude of projects, such as “Underwater Sunlight”, and the soundtracks “Near Dark” (dir. Kathryn Bigelow) and “Miracle Mile” (dir. Steve DeJarnett). In 1990, the band received a Grammy nomination for their soundtrack to the documentary “Canyon Dreams”.

Paul has toured, recorded and collaborated extensively around the world. Artists he has worked with include Jon Hassell, Jason Falkner, Justin Meldal-Johnson, Nona Hendryx, Lustmord, Sussan Deyhim, Steve Tavaglione and AJ Racy. Paul currently scores the AMC series “Halt and Catch Fire”.

Track List
1. On This Day
2. The Parole Hearing
3. The Accident
4. Leaving For The Weekend
5. Watching Alexis
6. 17 Creston Lane
7. It Is All A Game
8. At The Door
9. The Unrelaxing Shower
10. We Have To Leave
11. The Traffic Stop
12. Why Are You Doing This?
13. Your Girlfriend Is Dead
14. Fight For Life
15. Terry’s New Beginnings



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s