Featuring Music From The Beloved Series by Mark Snow

(October 1, 2013) – BuySoundtrax Records is proud to announce the release of MUSIC FROM THE X-FILES: 20th ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION, available digitally and on CD on October 2, 2013.  The album features music composed by Mark Snow and is produced and arranged by Dominik Hauser, Joohyun Park, and John Beal.

Twenty years ago viewers were transfixed by the weekly drama starring David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson as Fox Mulder and Dana Scully – two FBI agents who investigate supernatural cases, knowing that the truth is out there.  Film and television veteran composer Mark Snow was brought in to lead the musical charge for this truth.  From the opening notes, the eerie whistle of the main title theme, viewers were immediately engaged in the series, which would eventually boast over 200 episodes and two feature-length movies.

While best known for his music for THE X-FILES and its close cousin MILLENNIUM, Snow’s compositional efforts have encompassed many other series (including the popular shows SMALLVILLE and THE GHOST WHISPERER, as well as X-FILEScreator Chris Carter’s short-lived series THE LONE GUNMEN and HARSH REALM).  Snow has also scored numerous made-for-television movies as well as a handful of feature films, including several recent films for the legendary French director Alain Resnais.

A Brooklyn native, Mark Snow has been making music since the 1950s. Following a start in the music industry as a popular recording artist with his band the New York Rock and Roll Ensemble, Mark made the switch to composer for television and film in the 1970s. His other TV credits include One Tree Hill, Kojak, Pasadena, Dynasty, Falcon Crest, T. J. Hooker, Cagney and Lacey, Starsky and Hutch, Gemini Man, Family and Hart to Hart. Snow has been nominated 14 times for Emmy’s for his work on television series and television films including Helter SkelterChildren of the Dust, Oldest Living Confederate Widow Tells All and Something about Amelia.

Track Listing
Tracks 1-5: Suite From The X-Files
Track 6: The Post-Modern Prometheus – J.J.’s Diner
Track 7: This is Not Happening — Suite
Track 8: Dreamland Part 2 – Suite
Track 9: Christmas Carol – Mother Games
Track 10: Hollywood A.D. – Dancing Bones
Track 11: The Truth, Part 2 – The Truth is Inside
Track 12: Scully Serenade
Tracks 13-15: The X-Files Fight the Future (1998)
Tracks 16-18: The X-Files I Want to Believe (2008)
Track 19: The X-Files Theme — Guitar

MUSIC FROM THE X-FILES: 20th ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION will be available digitally, via and other outlets on October 2, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s