Newly Remastered With Three Bonus Tracks CD and Digital Download Available January 8, 2013

Masterworks Broadway will release a newly remastered version of Bye Bye Birdie – The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, in conjunction with the film’s 50th anniversary. Bye Bye Birdie opens a new chapter in the label’s celebrated campaign to preserve the music of Broadway by entering the arena of film musical soundtracks. This new reissue of Bye Bye Birdie will include three bonus tracks and will be available on CD and via digital download January 8, 2013.

Fifty years later, Bye Bye Birdie continues to charm and entertain, and its songs by Charles Strouse (Annie, Applause) and Lee Adams have lost none of their appeal and vivacity. The soundtrack, featuring the well-known songs such as “Put On a Happy Face,” “One Last Kiss” and “Bye Bye Birdie,” has been remastered from the original tapes and includes three bonus tracks of studio recordings from the film’s stars, Ann-Margaret and Jesse Pearson.

Based on the Tony-winning Broadway smash, Bye Bye Birdie was released in 1963 and starred Dick Van Dyke and Paul Lynde reprising their roles from the Broadway production. The film featured Ann-Margaret in her first starring role along with Janet Leigh, Maureen Stapleton and Jesse Pearson. Bye Bye Birdie opened at New York’s Radio City Music Hall and broke the theater’s all-time box office records, going on to receive two Academy Award nominations. Emmy, Tony and Grammy Award winner Dick Van Dyke will receive the Screen Actors Guild Lifetime Achievement Award on January 27, 2013.

1.     Bye Bye Birdie
2.     Opening Credits
3.     The Telephone Hour
4.     How Lovely To Be Woman
5.     We Love You Conrad (film version)
6.     Honestly Sincere
7.     Hymn For A Sunday Evening
8.     One Boy
9.     Put On A Happy Face
10.   Kids
11.   One Last Kiss (Gym Rehearsal Outtake)
12.   A Lot of Livin’ To Do
13.   The Sultans’ Ballet (film version)
14.   One Last Kiss
15.   Rosie
16.   Bye Bye Birdie (Reprise)
17.   One Last Kiss (Film version) (Bonus Track)
18.   How Lovely To Be A Woman (Bonus Track)
19.   Bye Bye Birdie (Bonus Track)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s